{SuperMom}

I have seen a lot of comments on Facebook or on blogs saying “Wow – you are really a SUPERMOM” or “HOW do you do it all” and it has had me thinking lately…

The way I look at it – if you are a mom, you ARE a supermom. The days that I get Zane up, get her dressed and either cook or clean or complete a project, those are usually the days that Zane didn’t wake up five times the night before. And trust me – if you could see my hair today, you know KNOW that last night wasn’t one of those nights.

We do this to ourselves all the time – we look at everyone else’s highlight reel, and compare it to our outtakes/behind the scenes. And things like social media and PINTEREST make it that much easier for us to do this. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE social media and how connected it can make us, but was I am talking about when we get into comparing. I have such admiration for moms in general. I have an appreciation for moms that I feel you only can have once you BECOME a mom. Lets face it – being a mom is one of the MOST rewarding things in life. But it is also CONSTANT hard work. Sometimes we hit the nail right on  the head – everyone had a nutritious dinner, had matching clothes that fit and went to sleep without a hitch. And then then there are the times that we are throwing french fries to the back seat hoping the kids get a few as you race to get to somewhere, only to realize your child only has one shoe on, and the shirt they put on is two sizes too small.

I say all of this to say – Take a breath, grab that Grande Latte {or maybe a Venti!} and face each day knowing that you are going to do YOUR BEST – it isn’t always perfect, it isn’t always pretty but who said that being a mom would be! Give yourself some grace, say a prayer and know that you are a SUPERMOM!!

5 thoughts on “{SuperMom}

  1. Alex @ northstory

    That is by far one of my favourite quotes of recent times. The highlight reel one. My husband actually emailed it to me when I was having a really bad day and I thought that’s just it. We all look at the pretty shiny edited things and look at our messy kitchens and go how the hell does she have time for that? When in reality the pretty garland that you just made took you oh 5 hours b/c of the behind the scenes kid chaos going on in the house today!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

