{My Village}

I am writing this post as I sit and think about all of the friends and family that I have in my life right now that have helped me through the ever-changing season that is parenting a child.

I have some AMAZING friends who I can really be myself around, and we can chat about anything.

On Friday, I sat around with a few very close mommy friends, and as we all began to share, one thing became very clear. Most of us moms think we are going to go crazy, feel insecure about one thing or another in our parenting capabilities, and just generally can feel alone in how we feel. And the amazing thing is that WE ALL feel this way at one point or another. It is when you get together and talk things out you realize that no, you are not alone. No, you are not the ONLY one that feels this way. And NO, you are NOT weird for feeling like you just might go crazy.

Here is the deal. All of us moms – We are already all crazy. You don’t need to worry any more about “going crazy”. If you have a child, you are already there 🙂 It is all about building a community around you so that you are not alone.

It was SO refreshing to sit and gab with my friends about what Zane was doing right now, and how I felt lost when it comes to discipline at this age (effective discipline). It was so nice to chat with ladies who have already been where I am so that they could help light the way for me. And, let’s be honest.  Sometimes, you are just wanting to hear that you are not alone, and that someone else has totally been through that before. (and bonus, they survived!)

I also love being able to talk to friends who are just starting out in this crazy ride called parenting, and bring them along side for the ride. We can all learn from each others experience. I don’t know where I would be if it wasn’t for my friends that I have met at church. People going the same direction I am going, with the same goal in mind.

It takes a village to raise a child – this is what they are talking about. You need your “people”. They are with you thick and thin and encourage you every step of the way.

So who is in your village?

One thought on “{My Village}

  1. Emily

    Yes! Love this, and feel just the same way. Can you imagine being out there all alone without church fam or friends you share core values with, trying to figure out how to be a parent or what is the “right way” or all that? Makes me feel grateful and want to invite others to have that same community. You are a great mom!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

