Every woman has “Dirty” laundry she needs to hide {Oh!}

My friend Corianne was getting married a year or so ago, and I felt so bad that I couldn’t be at the bachelorette party to celebrate with her. Of course you know the usual types of gifts given at this type of parties (unmentionables) but I wanted to give her something a little special. Then it popped into my head – I should make her something for her “Dirty” laundry!!

This post will be picture heavy, but I want to show the progression of the project! So bear with me, it will be worth it!

I started with a cardboard container I was given when I got married years ago. I had never cared for the color, but it was nice to keep my unmentionables somewhere all together. This project involved Mod Podge (straight from heaven), scrapbook paper, acrylic paint, fancy stickers (letters/diamonds/and a chandelier) and a few hours.

I started by cutting the scrapbook paper into strips because it needed to be able to maneuver around the corners of the rounded container.

I finished the top in a beautiful red paper first. I had less of the red that I did the grey, So I used the grey on the bottom (since there was more space to cover). I just pasted each strip on one by one going on a circle.

Have you used Mod Podge before? It is FANTASTIC, but you need to do your project in stages because it dries pretty quickly. So I would cover a bit of the cardboard with MP, put a strip or two down, and then cover the paper with the MP again.

One the inside top cover, I decided to use some glittery stickers and write the words “Dirty Laundry” – I also need an excuse to use the chandelier sticker because if anyone knows Corianne, you know she LOVES all things chandelier!

At this point, it was into the WEE early morning hours and I was almost finished! It was just missing SOMETHING – it didn’t look quit finished so I took some ribbing I had laying around and used a hot glue gun to glue it to the edge. I felt it made it looked more finished.

So, I learned a few valuable lessons doing this project. The main one being TAKE A FINAL PICTURE  – can you believe I documented this whole process and didn’t get a final picture? I chalk it up to it being to late and I was just tired. Lesson Learned.

I hope I have inspired SOMETHING in you today – go be creative in your area of life with something today!

*I hope you go and give Corianne’s blog CorianneLand a follow – she is a great gal with awesome taste!

Have a fabulous day!

Leave a Reply

